The UCLA Anderson School of Management Information Systems (IS) Ph.D. program was one of the first to be established by a major business school.

The program had 56 graduates — the first in 1971 and the last in 2009.

Over five decades, our grads have held academic positions in universities and colleges around the world, as well as research and leadership positions in both industry and government. Many have made significant contributions to IS and related fields. Some are now retired, and some have pursued alternative interests and careers. Here we feature basic contact information for our grads (if we have it). For further information on IS academics and people (including many of our IS alumni), see the Association for Information Systems.

If you are one of our alumni, you are also welcome to join the new UCLA IS Doctoral Grads group, which is managed by Professor Burt Swanson on MS Outlook. This group provides opportunities to share greetings and news, and renew old acquaintances. It might also lead to some fruitful get-togethers or even collaborations. If you have not already joined the group, contact Burt to be added.

See the UCLA Anderson Alumni Network website for further information regarding alumni activities and programs.

Information Systems Doctoral Program Alumni


1986 Beath, Cynthia M.

1980 Bento, Alberto M.

1984 Bergeron, Francois

1992 Bouchard, Lyne

1988 Chari, Srikanth

1991 Choudhury, Vivek

1987 Christensen, Gunnar E.

1989 Chung, H. Michael

1983 Chung, Ilchoo

1983 Cooper, Randolph B.

1980 Culnan, Mary J.

2000 Dans, Enrique

1983 DeLone, William H.

1993 El-Shinnawy, Maha

1978 Ewusi-Mensah, Kweku

1985 Farn, Cheng-Kiang

2003 Firth, David R.

1980 Fischer, Kurt F.

1992 Gebelt-Fuller, Mary K.

1977 Gingras, Lin

2009 Gorgeon, Arnaud

1975 Graydon, Donald M.

1987 Harel, Elazar C.

1977 Hartman, Stephen K.

1999 Hirt, Sabine G.

1987 Hsiao, Bryan C.

1992 Huh, Soon-Young

1996 Joseph, Thomas

1982 Kwan, Stephen K.

1993 Lee, Bichin T.

1971 Leeburg, Lewis E.

1977 Lemos, Ronald S.

1987 Li, Ying-Nan P.

1998 Matute, Genaro

1999 Nakayama, Makoto

1991 Nidumolu, Sarma R.

1989 Plain, Harold G.

2000 Poissonnet, Sandrine P.

1981 Porter, Leslie R.

1996 Ramiller, Neil C.

1996 Roldan, Maria (Malu)

1984 Salaway, Gail

1995 Shabana, Ahmed A.

1971 Siler, Kenneth F.

1994 Soe, Louise L.

1991 Soh, Christina (Wai Lin)

1977 Spiegler, Israel

1997 Sutcliffe, Norma

1977 Tompkins, Gerry E.

2005 Wang, Ping

1987 Wang, Yu T.

1996 Ward, Sidne G.

1976 Weiss, Ira R.

1997 Westheider, Olaf

1993 White, Anita R.

1987 Wong, Gordon K.

1988 Wu, Rebecca C.

2006 Yamauchi, Yutaka

Passings: Stephen Hartman, Lewis Leeburg, Ronald Lemos, Genaro Matute and Israel Spiegler are deceased.