Skip to main content
The John Wooden Leadership Fellowship Application

Each year, UCLA Anderson awards $35,000 fellowships to a select number of students who embody Coach John Wooden's values-based leadership philosophy. Each applicant should possess an ability to manage change and have an unquenchable thirst for improvement, constant learning and innovation. Students interested in applying should be able to demonstrate leadership styles that espouse ethics, team spirit, hard work and loyalty. 

Eligibility and Application Requirements
Monday, November 29, 2021 – Monday, January 31, 2022
Wooden Fellowship recipients will be notified in April 2022

The following students are eligible to apply for this fellowship:

• Full-time MBA Class of 2023
• EMBA Class of 2023
• FEMBA Classes of 2023 and 2024

• MSBA Class of 2022
• MFE Class of 2022
• UCLA-NUS EMBA Class of 2022

Applications are closed

Applications are not accepted from students graduating in summer 2022.
Students must be in good academic standing.

Applications Include:

A 500-word essay
John Wooden lived and led by the tenets of his Leadership Pyramid. How will your understanding of John Wooden's leadership principles shape the evolution of your own leadership style? Please elaborate by sharing a personal story.
Your current resume.
A letter of recommendation.

All applications will be reviewed by the Fellowship Review Committee, which includes representatives from all eligible degree programs. Depending on university and government guidelines, Wooden Award recipients may be asked to attend and speak briefly at the awards dinner, as well as featured in promotional photographs and videos.

Learn About the John Wooden Awards
In 2008, UCLA Anderson established the John Wooden Global Leadership Program to build upon UCLA Basketball Coach John Wooden’s legacy of leadership.

The program consists of:

  • The John Wooden Global Leadership Award recognizes an exemplary leader who personifies Coach Wooden’s leadership philosophy. Past honorees have included: Mellody Hobson, Co-CEO & President, Ariel Investments; Reed Hastings, Founder & CEO, Netflix; Kevin Plank, Chairman & CEO, Under Armour; Ursula Burns, CEO, Xerox; Paul E. Jacobs, Executive Chairman, Qualcomm; Robert Iger, Chairman & CEO, Disney; Indra Nooyi, Chairman & CEO, PepsiCo; Peter Ueberroth, Managing Director, Contrarian Group; Frederick Smith, President & CEO, FedEx; Ken Chenault, Chairman & CEO, American Express; and Howard Schultz, Chairman President & CEO, Starbucks.
  • The John Wooden Leadership Fellowship awards $35,000 fellowships. These fellowships are funded from the proceeds generated from the annual John Wooden Global Leadership Award Dinner.