May 29, 2013

LOS ANGELES (May 29, 2013) - Faculty Chairman Randolph Bucklin today announced the winners of the annual UCLA Anderson School of Management faculty teaching awards, which recognize excellence in teaching, research and service. This year's winners were selected by the Teaching Improvement Committee - comprised of Bob Foster, Mark Garmaise, Dominique Hanssens, David Lewin and Kevin McCardle - and will be honored at an afternoon reception on June 3.

  • Dean George W. Robbins Assistant Professor Teaching Award: Jenessa Shapiro
  • Citibank Teaching Award: Bruce Carlin
  • Neidorf "Decade" Teaching Award: John Mamer  

In addition, the Research Committee has selected Felipe Caro and Jenessa Shapiro as the winners of the Eric and "E" Juline Faculty Excellence in Research Award, which recognizes excellence in research among the school's assistant professors. Shapiro's research considers the interrelated topics of prejudice, stereotype stigma and inter-group dynamics. Caro is widely recognized for his research contributions to developing near-optimal solution methods to stochastic dynamic programming problems with learning, and for applying his methods to supply chain management, assortment planning and pricing issues at fast fashion retailers.  

Christopher Erickson and Christopher Tang are this year's co-winners of the J. Clayburn La Force Award recognizing outstanding service by faculty. Tang is the founder of the UCLA-NUS Global Executive MBA Program, and Erickson has been the director of the program for nine years. Recently, due to their efforts with UCLA Anderson's partner school in Singapore, the UCLA-NUS Program was ranked the No. 5 Executive MBA Program in the world by the Financial Times. Tang is the Edward W. Carter Chair in Business Administration and has served the school with distinction for the past 28 years. He has been the Associate Dean and Chairman of faculty (1998-2002), Chair of the Faculty Executive Committee and Chair of the Staffing Committee. Erickson joined UCLA Anderson in 1991 and has served as Senior Associate Dean, Vice Chair of Faculty, Chair of the Staffing Committee, Faculty Director of CIBER, and has also served on the Faculty Executive Committee.

The Dean's Prize Committee has selected Mark Grinblatt as the winner of the 2013 Dean's Prize for Outstanding Faculty Mentorship of Ph.D. Students. Grinblatt was selected on the basis of the excellent placements of students whose committees he has chaired in the past 10 years. These placements include University of Chicago, University of Texas at Austin, Ohio State, USC and Boston University.  

In memory of the late Professor Xavier Drèze, an annual award also has been established to honor a UCLA Anderson School Ph.D. student for the most outstanding research paper. The Xavier Drèze Prize for 2013 goes to George Georgiadis, a DOTM Ph.D. student who will join the Boston University economics department faculty this fall. Georgiadis' paper, "Projects and Team Dynamics," was selected by the Drèze Award Committee.  

About UCLA Anderson School of Management  

UCLA Anderson School of Management is among the leading business schools in the world, with faculty members globally renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Located in Los Angeles, gateway to the growing economies of Latin America and Asia and a city that personifies innovation in a diverse range of endeavors, UCLA Anderson's MBA, Fully-Employed MBA, Executive MBA, Global Executive MBA for Asia Pacific, Global Executive MBA for the Americas, Master of Financial Engineering, doctoral and executive education programs embody the school's Think In The Next ethos.  Here some 1,800 students annually are trained to be global leaders seeking the business models and community solutions of tomorrow. Follow UCLA Anderson on Twitter at, or on Facebook at 

Media Relations