Gerald Loeb Awards

January 04, 2011

LOS ANGELES, CA -- UCLA Anderson School of Management and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation invite business, financial and economic journalists from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries and nominations for the 2011 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism. The Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism, recognizing writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy for both the private investor and the general public.

This year, the Loeb Awards have replaced Feature Writing with a new Explanatory category and have added a category for Online Enterprise.  The awards use an entirely electronic submissions process. Submissions and nominations for the competition categories and career achievement awards are accepted online only at

Entries Accepted in 13 Competition Categories

  • Large Newspapers
  • Medium & Small Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Commentary
  • Breaking News
  • Beat Reporting
  • News Services
  • Explanatory
  • Online Enterprise
  • Blogging
  • Personal Finance
  • Television Enterprise
  • Business Book

Consideration is limited to entries that were published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2010. All submissions and nominations must be submitted online at by 11:59 p.m. PST Monday, January 31, 2011.

Nominations Accepted for Lifetime Achievement and Lawrence Minard Editor Awards
The Loeb Awards are also accepting nominations for (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news; and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing.  Nominations will be accepted online only at

More information and submission guidelines can be found at or by contacting the Loeb Awards office at or (310) 825-4478.

Loeb Awards Final Judges
RAFAT ALI, Founder,
AMANDA BENNETT, Executive Editor, Enterprise, Bloomberg News
MATTHEW BISHOP, New York Bureau Chief, The Economist
GENE BLOCH, Managing Editor, CNN New York
DAVID BOARDMAN, Executive Editor, The Seattle Times
CHRYSTIA FREELAND, Global Editor-at-Large, Thomson Reuters
JOHN HILLKIRK, Executive Editor, USA Today
LARRY KRAMER, Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, CBS Marketwatch
GLENN KRAMON, Assistant Managing Editor, The New York Times
JOANNE LIPMAN, Founding Editor-in-Chief, Condé Nast Portfolio
TYLER MATHISEN, Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC
MATT MURRAY, Deputy Managing Editor, National News, The Wall Street Journal
JUDY D. OLIAN, Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management
ALLAN SLOAN, Senior Editor-at-Large, Fortune
RUSS STANTON, Editor, Los Angeles Times
PAUL STEIGER, Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica
GILLIAN TETT, U.S. Managing Editor, Financial Times
JONATHAN WALD, Executive Producer, Piers Morgan Tonight / Adjunct Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

About UCLA Anderson School of Management:
Celebrating 75 years of Business Beyond Usual, UCLA Anderson School of Management is regarded among the leading business schools in the world. UCLA Anderson faculty members are globally renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Each year, UCLA Anderson provides a distinctive approach to management education to more than 1,800 students enrolled in its MBA, Fully-Employed MBA, Executive MBA, UCLA-NUS Global Executive MBA, Master of Financial Engineering, doctoral and executive education programs. Combining highly selective admissions, varied and innovative learning programs, and a world-wide network of 39,000 alumni, UCLA Anderson develops and prepares global leaders.

Media Relations