Gerald Loeb Awards

January 04, 2010

LOS ANGELES -- UCLA Anderson School of Management and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation invite business, financial and economic journalists from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries and nominations for the 2010 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism. The Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism, recognizing writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy for both the private investor and the general public.

This year, the Loeb Awards are launching significant changes that embrace emerging technologies and new media.  The awards submissions process will be entirely electronic and two new Loeb Awards categories have been created: Online Commentary and Blogging; and Personal Finance.  Submissions and nominations for the 13 competition categories and two career achievement awards will be accepted online only at

Entries Accepted in 13 Competition Categories

  • Large Market Newspapers
  • Medium & Small Market Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Commentary
  • Breaking News
  • Beat Writing
  • News Services
  • Feature Writing
  • Online Commentary and Blogging
  • Personal Finance
  • Television Breaking News
  • Television Enterprise
  • Business Book

Consideration is limited to entries that were published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2009. All submissions and nominations must be submitted online at by midnight Monday, February 1, 2010.

Nominations Accepted for Lifetime Achievement and Lawrence Minard Editor Awards
The Loeb Awards are also accepting nominations for (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news; and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing.  Nominations will be accepted online only at

For more information or to receive a call for entries brochure by mail or e-mail, please contact the Loeb Awards office at or (310) 825-4478. To download the entry brochure in PDF format, visit:

Loeb Awards Final Judges
STEPHEN J. ADLER, Senior Vice President and Editorial Director Thomson Reuters Professional Division
AMANDA BENNETT, Executive Editor Enterprise Bloomberg News
MATTHEW BISHOP, Bureau Chief The Economist
GENE BLOCH, Managing Editor CNN New York
CHRYSTIA FREELAND, U.S. Managing Editor Financial Times
JOHN HILLKIRK, Executive Editor USA Today
GLENN KRAMON, Assistant Managing Editor The New York Times
JOANNE LIPMAN, Former Editor-in-Chief Condé Nast Portfolio
TYLER MATHISEN, Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives CNBC
MATT MURRAY, Deputy Managing Editor, National News The Wall Street Journal
JUDY D. OLIAN, Dean UCLA Anderson School of Management
DAVID SCHLESINGER, Editor-in-Chief Thomson Reuters
RUSS STANTON, Editor Los Angeles Times
ALLAN SLOAN, Senior Editor at Large Fortune
JONATHAN WALD, Former Senior Vice President Business News CNBC

About UCLA Anderson School of Management
UCLA Anderson School of Management, established in 1935, is regarded among the leading business schools in the world. UCLA Anderson faculty members are renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Each year, UCLA Anderson provides management education to more than 1,800 students enrolled in MBA, Fully-Employed MBA, Executive MBA, UCLA-NUS Global Executive MBA, Master of Financial Engineering, and doctoral programs, and to more than 2,000 professional managers through executive education programs. Combining highly selective admissions, varied and innovative learning programs, and a world-wide network of 36,000 alumni, UCLA Anderson develops and prepares global leaders.

Media Relations