Loeb Winners

June 29, 2009
UCLA Anderson Announces 2009 Gerald Loeb Award Winners
Lifetime Achievement Award Goes to Bill Emmott; Lawrence Ingrassia Receives Lawrence Minard Editor Award

NEW YORK -- Journalists from across the nation gathered tonight at the New York Athletic Club for the 2009 Gerald Loeb Awards Banquet. The Loeb Awards are among the highest honors in journalism, recognizing the work of journalists whose contributions illuminate the world of business, finance and the economy for readers and viewers around the world.

Judy D. Olian, dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management and chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation, welcomed Loeb Awards honorees and their guests. Tyler Mathisen, managing editor of CNBC Business News, served as master of ceremonies.

The Loeb Awards includes two special awards for career contributions: the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was given to Bill Emmott, former editor-in-chief of The Economist; and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which went to Lawrence Ingrassia, business and financial editor of The New York Times. In addition, there were 12 competition categories in which winners were named at the banquet. Following is a list of the 2009 Loeb Awards recipients.

Large Newspapers Winners
Gretchen Morgenson, Peter S. Goodman, Charles Duhigg, Carter Dougherty, Eric Dash, Julie Creswell, Jo Becker, Sheryl Gay Stolberg and Stephen Labaton of The New York Times for "The Reckoning."

Medium & Small Newspapers Winners
Jack Dolan, Matthew Haggman and Rob Barry of The Miami Herald for "Borrowers Betrayed."

Medium & Small Newspapers Honorable Mention
Ames Alexander, Peter St. Onge, Franco Ordoñez, Kerry Hall and Ted Mellnik of The Charlotte Observer for "The Cruelest Cuts."

Magazines Winner
David Leonhardt of The New York Times Magazine for "Obamanomics."

Commentary Winner
Brian M. Carney of The Wall Street Journal for "Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac."

Breaking News Winners
Carrick Mollenkamp, Susanne Craig, Serena Ng, Aaron Lucchetti, Matthew Karnitschnig, Dan Fitzpatrick, Deborah Solomon, Dennis K. Berman, Liam Pleven, Peter Lattman and Annelena Lobb of The Wall Street Journal for "The Day That Changed Wall Street."

Beat Writing Winners
Rick Rothacker of The Charlotte Observer for "The Fall of Wachovia."

Gretchen Morgenson of The New York Times for "Wall Street."

News Services Winners
William Selway and Martin Z. Braun of Bloomberg News for "Broken Promises."

Feature Writing Winner
Michael Lewis of Condé Nast Portfolio for "The End."

Online Winners
Art Lenehan, Peggy Collins, Aaron Whallon, Anh Ly, Elizabeth Daza, Joe Farro, Sean Enzwiler,
Rachel Elson, Mark Baumgartner, Lauren Barack, Richard Conniff and Judi Hasson of MSN Money for "Middle Class Crunch."

Television Breaking News Winners
Steve Kroft, Jennifer MacDonald and L. Franklin Devine of CBS News/60 Minutes for "Economic Crisis: House of Cards."

Television Enterprise Winners
Scott Pelley, Solly Granatstein and Nicole Young of CBS News/60 Minutes for "The Wasteland."

Business Book Winner
Charles R. Morris of Public Affairs for "Trillion Dollar Meltdown: Easy Money, High Rollers, and the Great Credit Crash."

The Loeb Awards gratefully acknowledges the following sponsors: Associated Press, Bloomberg, BusinessWeek, CBS News, CNBC, The Economist, Financial Times, Forbes, Fortune, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, McKinsey & Company, MSN Money, The New York Times, Thomson Reuters, UCLA Anderson School of Management, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and The Wall Street Journal Editorial Page. For more information about the Loeb Awards, please visit The Loeb Awards Web site.

About UCLA Anderson School of Management
UCLA Anderson School of Management, established in 1935, is regarded among the leading business schools in the world. UCLA Anderson faculty members are renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Each year, UCLA Anderson provides management education to more than 1,700 students enrolled in MBA, Executive MBA, Fully-Employed MBA and doctoral programs, and to more than 2,000 professional managers through executive education programs. Combining highly selective admissions, varied and innovative learning programs, and a world-wide network of 36,000 alumni, UCLA Anderson develops and prepares global leaders.

Contact Information
Media Relations, (310) 206-7707, media.relations@anderson.ucla.edu

Media Relations