March 21, 2005

McLean, Va. —The Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism held its annual preliminary judging meeting today at USA Today headquarters in McLean, Va.  This year’s preliminary judges include leading journalists representing major print and broadcast media organizations from across the nation, as well as a faculty member from UCLA Anderson School of Management, which has sponsored the Loeb Awards since 1973.

The Loeb Awards are considered the most prestigious honor in business journalism and recognize writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy.  This year the preliminary judges considered 394 entries for the contest—a number that ties last year’s all-time high.

“We’re pleased that USA Today so graciously offered to host this preliminary judging session, which is usually held at UCLA Anderson,” said Richard Rodner, associate dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management and president of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation.  “It was a nice change of venue.”

Each of the Loeb Awards preliminary judges reviews all entries in one of the 10 competition categories to narrow the field to approximately four finalists, which then advance to the final judging round in the spring in New York City.  The finalists are determined collectively by each category panel in separate deliberation sessions.

“We’re pleased to welcome 23 new preliminary judges for this year's competition,” said Bruce G. Willison, dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management, chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation and a final judge for the Loeb Awards. “The Loeb Awards have always attracted outstanding judges, and we’re pleased to continue that tradition.

“We’re also pleased to have extended the geographical diversity of the 50 journalists who serve as preliminary judges,” added Dean Willison.

The 23 new judges for the 2005 Loeb Awards competition are as follows:

  • Daniel Arnall, business editor, ABC News Business Unit
  • Nancy Barnes, assistant managing editor, business, Star Tribune
  • Sandra Block, business reporter, USA Today
  • Andy Breslau, executive producer, CNN
  • Frank Comes, assistant managing editor, BusinessWeek
  • Charles Crumpley, business editor, Times-Picayune
  • Ben Edwards, U.S. business editor, The Economist
  • Tony Emerson, senior editor, Newsweek
  • Julie Gallego, business team leader, Orange County Register
  • Brian Gottleib, associate producer, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer
  • Adam Horowitz, deputy editor, Business 2.0
  • Lawrence Ingrassia, business editor, The New York Times
  • Stephen Keating, business editor, The Denver Post
  • John Koten, editor, Inc.
  • David Lewin, senior associate dean, MBA program, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • Margaret Mannix, assistant managing editor, money & business, U.S. News & World Report
  • James Montgomery, U.S. news editor, Financial Times
  • Kevin Noblet, business editor, Associated Press
  • James O'Shea, managing editor, Chicago Tribune
  • Mark Pawlosky, editor in chief, MSN Money &
  • Larry Reibstein, assistant managing editor, Forbes
  • Eric Roston, reporter, Time
  • Craig Schwed, managing editor, business, Gannett News Service

Following are the 27 preliminary returning judges for the 2005 Loeb Awards competition:

  • Neil Chase, managing editor, CBS
  • Jeffrey Cole, director, Center for the Digital Future, University of Southern California
  • Bennie DiNardo, deputy business editor, The Boston Globe
  • Judith H. Dobrzynski, executive editor, business news, CNBC-TV
  • Jill Dutt, assistant managing editor, The Washington Post
  • Carmen Fleetwood, assistant managing editor, Dow Jones Newswire
  • David Fritze, business editor, The Arizona Republic
  • Hank Gilman, deputy managing editor, Fortune
  • Vindu Goel, business editor, San Jose Mercury News
  • Howard Gold, editor, Barron’s Online
  • Daniel Goodgame, managing editor, Fortune Small Business
  • Kathryn Harris, contributor, Bloomberg News
  • Jerry Hirsch, staff writer, Los Angeles Times
  • Matt Krantz, reporter, USA Today
  • Michele Matassa Flores, deputy investigations editor, The Seattle Times
  • Tom O’Hara, managing editor, The Plain Dealer
  • Jeff Pelline, editor, CNET
  • Ned Popkins, business editor, Orlando Sentinel
  • Eric Schurenberg, managing editor, Money
  • Michael Siconolfi, senior editor, The Wall Street Journal
  • Jennifer Siebens, bureau chief, CBS News
  • Alecia Swasy, deputy managing editor, The Virginian-Pilot
  • Mark Vamos, executive editor, Fast Company
  • Kathy Warbelow, business editor, Austin American-Statesman
  • Stephen West, media editor, Bloomberg News 
  • Betty Wong, managing editor, Americas, Reuters
  • Sam Zuckerman, economics writer, San Francisco Chronicle

The 2005 Loeb Award winners will be announced at a banquet and presentation ceremony that will be held on Monday, June 27, 2005, in New York City. The recipients of the Lawrence Minard Editor Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award will also be honored.

The Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism were established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, former founding partner of E.F. Hutton, to encourage quality reporting to inform and protect private investors and the general public. Winners are selected each year in a variety of print and broadcast categories, and career achievements are recognized with the Lawrence Minard Editor Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. Judges are drawn from leading print and broadcast media nationwide.

About UCLA Anderson School of Management
UCLA Anderson School of Management is perennially ranked among the top-tier business schools in the world.  Award-winning faculty renowned for their research and teaching, highly selective admissions, successful alumni and world-class facilities combine to provide an extraordinary learning environment.  UCLA Anderson constituents are part of a culture that values individual vision, intellectual discipline and a sense of teamwork and collegiality.

Established in 1935, UCLA Anderson School of Management provides management education to more than 1,400 students enrolled in MBA and doctoral programs, and some 2,000 executives and managers enrolled annually in executive education programs.  Recognizing that the school offers unparalleled expertise in management education, the world's business community turns to UCLA Anderson School of Management as a center of influence for the ideas, innovations, strategies and talent that will shape the future.

Media Relations