January 16, 2004

Los Angeles — The G. and R. Loeb Foundation, Inc., and UCLA Anderson School of Management invite business, financial and economic journalists from print and broadcast media to submit entries for the 2004 Gerald Loeb Awards. The Loeb Awards, now in their 47th year, are considered the most prestigious honor in business journalism and recognize writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy.

Loeb Awards are given in 10 competition categories:


  • Large Newspapers
  • Medium Newspapers
  • Small Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Commentary
  • Deadline Writing
  • Beat Writing
  • New Services or Online Content


  • Television Short Form
  • Television Long Form

Consideration is limited to articles and segments published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2003. Completed entry applications and accompanying materials for the 2004 competition must be submitted to the Loeb Awards program office — postmarked no later than Monday, January 26, 2004.

For more information or to receive an entry brochure by mail or e-mail, please contact Mary Ann Lowe, Loeb Awards program manager, at (310) 206-1877 or loeb@anderson.ucla.edu. You may also visit the Loeb Awards Web site at www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu to download the entry brochure in PDF format.

Accepting Nominations for Career Achievement Awards
The Loeb Awards is also accepting nominations for (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career achievements in the field of business, financial and economic news, and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing. Nomination procedures for both awards are included in the entry brochure.

A committee of preliminary judges, consisting of business, financial and economic journalists and faculty members of UCLA Anderson, reviews all entries and selects finalists in each category. The finalists are submitted to a distinguished panel of final judges, chaired by the dean of UCLA Anderson, which selects the winners.

Winners in each category receive a $2,000 honorarium (that is divided equally among all participating entrants for the winning entry).

Final Judges for the Loeb Awards
Lionel Barber, U.S. managing editor, Financial Times
Lou Dobbs, anchor and managing editor of "Lou Dobbs Tonight," CNN
Steve Forbes, president and editor-in-chief, Forbes
Soma Golden Behr, assistant managing editor, The New York Times
John Hillkirk, managing editor, Money Section, USA Today
Robert G. Kaiser, associate editor, The Washington Post
Rik Kirkland, managing editor, Fortune
Mark Morrison, managing editor, BusinessWeek
Allan Sloan, Wall Street editor, Newsweek
Paul E. Steiger, vice president and managing editor, The Wall Street Journal
Pamela Thomas-Graham, president and CEO, CNBC
Richard C. Wald, consultant, ABC News
Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief, Bloomberg News
Bruce G. Willison, dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

About the Loeb Awards
The Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism were established in 1957 by financier Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton, to encourage quality reporting in the areas of business, finance and the economy in order to inform and protect private investors and the general public. Winners are selected each year in a variety of print and broadcast categories, and career accomplishments are recognized with the Lawrence Minard Editor Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. Judges are drawn from leading print and broadcast media nationwide. UCLA Anderson has sponsored the Loeb Awards since 1973

Media Relations