June 14, 2004

Los Angeles — Over the course of 35 years, UCLA Anderson School of Management has built an exceptional reputation in Applied Management Research Projects (AMR). For 2004, teams of second-year MBA students partnered with more than 75 companies, over 20 weeks, engaging in a joint learning experience to explore strategic issues of critical importance to each participating company. This innovative management field study program, which is looked upon as an exemplary model by many business schools worldwide, brings executives and students together to define and solve strategic problems; enhance organizational competitiveness; explore new business opportunities; and improve managerial effectiveness. Projects conclude with each team presenting recommendations to key decision makers in their partnering organization, which are then submitted for award consideration.

  • The Deloitte Award for Management Field Study Achievement recognizes the team and project judged to represent the highest standards of leadership, teamwork, research and analysis, professionalism and strategic creativity in its solution of a complex problem. A $5,000 prize is awarded to the winning team.
  • The Edward Sedgewick III Memorial Award recognizes the most exceptionally written report. A $4,000 prize is awarded to the winning team.

The 2004 AMR winners and finalists represented projects in the automotive, media entertainment, non-profit, professional sports, real estate, and retail industries.

2004 Deloitte Award

Winning Team
Benjamin Belldegrun, Jill Forster, Dennis Kawachi, Nathalie Sajous, Lawrence Yeatman
Faculty Advisor: Olav Sorenson (Anshutz Entertainment Group)

Finalist Teams
Julia Flores, Mark Sychay, Lori Tranquilla, Ying Wang
Faculty Advisor: Eric Flamholtz
(99Cents Only)

Jamie Corredor, Glenn Oyoung, Michael Schoelhammer, Christopher Steege
Faculty Advisor: George Abe

Martin Feeny, Casey Harmon, Emily Kanter, Blake Phillips
Faculty Advisor: Andrew Ainslie
(Outward Bound)

Bret Cohler, John Devenny, John Lawrence, Jeffrey Misthal, Carey Ransom
Faculty Advisor: Antonio Bernardo
(Taylor Made Golf)

2004 Edward Sedgewick III Memorial Award

Winning Team
Kristi Dabadie, Peter Janda, Michelle Sunna Lee, Kiran Paranipe, Anni Rodgers
Faculty Advisor: Olav Sorenson
(Playboy Entertainment)

Finalist Teams
Natasha Crain, Julie Liu, Seven Shepley, Gary Van Ostrand
Faculty Advisor: Carla Hayn
(Aquarium of the Pacific)

Kathleen Soo Hoo, Benjamin Hung, Taeyun Kim, Marc Kolin, Michael Tonsing
Faculty Advisor: Bill Cockrum

Ari Hirt, Kevin Ma, Aliza Marciano, Giovanni Nucci, Steven Orchard
Faculty Advisor: Stephen Dietrich
(Ratkovich Company)

For more information, please visit the Applied Management Research Program Web site.

Media Relations