January 09, 2003

LOS ANGELES — Three faculty members of The Anderson School at UCLA were inducted as inaugural Fellows of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). Professors Arthur Geoffrion, Donald Morrison and William Pierskalla received this honor. They are part of an inaugural group of INFORMS Fellow Awardees comprised of past presidents of INFORMS (and of ORSA and TIMS, the two societies that merged to form INFORMS), previous winners of the INFORMS society's Von Neumann Prize for fundamental theoretical contributions and its George E. Kimball Medal for service to the profession, and INFORMS members of the National Academy of Science or the National Academy of Engineering. The Anderson School is the only business school with three INFORMS Fellows.

Drs. Geoffrion, Morrison and Pierskalla received this honor for having-each in his own way-demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in operations research and management sciences. Specifically, Prof. Geoffrion qualified for being TIMS president (1981-82), INFORMS president (1997), for receiving the Kimball Award (2000), and for being a member of the National Academy of Engineering (since 1998). Prof. Morrison qualified as an inaugural INFORMS Fellow for being TIMS president (1991-92). Prof. Pierskalla qualified for being ORSA president (1982) and for receiving the Kimball Award (1989).

The induction took place in Nov. 2002 at a luncheon of the 2002 annual INFORMS conference in San Jose. The event coincided with the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Operations Research Society of America (ORSA), the world's first society specific to this field. Additional Fellows will be designated each year.

"These individuals have demonstrated exceptional talent in operations research and management sciences and deserve to be recognized as the best in their industry," said Bruce Willison, dean of The Anderson School at UCLA.

Below is some biographical information on The Anderson School's INFORMS Fellow Awardees:

Arthur Geoffrion, James A. Collins Chair in Management and Professor of Decision Sciences
Dr. Geoffrion chairs the Decisions, Operations and Technology Management area at The Anderson School at UCLA. The author of more than 60 published works, he is currently studying analytical methods for electronic commerce. His research has been supported by about 45 grants and contracts from such prestigious organizations as the National Science Foundation and the Office of Naval Research. He is an honorary member of Omega Rho and a fellow of the International Academy of Management. In 1997, Dr. Geoffrion was president of the leading professional society in his field, the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences, and in 1998 he became the first Anderson School professor to be elected to the National Academy of Engineering. In 2002, Dr. Geoffrion was the recipient of the Harold Larnder Prize awarded annually by the Canadian Operational Research Society (CORS).

Donald Morrison, William E. Leonhard Chair in Management and Professor of Marketing
Dr. Morrison received a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering from MIT and a Ph.D. in operations research from Stanford University. He is the author or co-author of more than 90 articles in referred journals with special emphasis on marketing research and applied statistics and has been an expert witness as a statistician in a number of legal cases and a consultant to industrial firms and governmental agencies. He is the co-author of a book, Stochastic Models of Buying Behavior, with William F. Massey and David B. Montgomery. Dr. Morrison is the recipient of the 2002 American Marketing Association/ Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator of the Year Award-the highest honor a marketing educator can receive.

William Pierskalla, Professor of Operations and Technology Management
A former dean of The Anderson School, Dr. Pierskalla specializes in health care management and delivery, and his other current research interests include operations, mathematical programming, transportation, maintainability and inventory. He is a prolific writer, having published as author or co-author more than 50 scientific papers and he has written numerous working papers and technical reports. Dr. Pierskalla serves on several editorial boards, including Health Care Management Science Journal, Production and Operations Management and International Transactions In Operational Research. He is a board member of the Bush Foundation, health2health, Northern Trust Bank of California and Mount St. Mary's College.

The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS®) is an international scientific society with more than 10,000 members dedicated to applying scientific methods to help improve decision-making, management, and operations. Members of INFORMS work in business, government and academia. The INFORMS website is at http://www.informs.org/

About The Anderson School at UCLA
The Anderson School at UCLA is perennially ranked among the top-tier business schools in the world. Award winning faculty renowned for their research and teaching, highly qualified students, successful alumni and world-class facilities combine to provide an extraordinary learning environment. Established in 1935, The Anderson School provides management education to more than 1,300 students enrolled in full-time, part-time and executive MBA programs and academic master's and Ph.D. programs. In addition, there are approximately 500 undergraduate students enrolled in Anderson's Undergraduate Accounting Minor Program.

The Anderson School's faculty includes outstanding educators and researchers who share their scholarship and expertise in such fundamental areas as finance, marketing, accounting, business economics, decisions science, operations and technology management, human resources and organizational behavior, information systems, strategy and policy.

Offering unparalleled expertise in management education, the world's business community turns to The Anderson School at UCLA as a center of influence for the ideas, innovations, strategies, and talent that will shape the future.

Media Relations