January 10, 2003

LOS ANGELES — The Anderson School at UCLA and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation, Inc. invite business, financial and economic journalists from print and broadcast media to submit entries for the 2003 Gerald Loeb Awards. The Loeb Awards, now in their 46th year, are considered the most prestigious in business journalism and recognize writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy.

Loeb Awards are given in 10 competition categories:


  • Large Newspapers
  • Medium Newspapers
  • Small Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Commentary
  • Deadline Writing
  • Beat Writing
  • New Services or Online Content


  • Television Short Form
  • Television Long Form

Consideration is limited to articles and segments published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2002. Completed entry applications and accompanying materials for the 2003 competition must be submitted to the Loeb Awards program office — postmarked no later than Monday, January 27, 2003.

For more information or to receive an entry brochure by mail or e-mail, please contact Mary Ann Lowe, Loeb Awards program manager, at (310) 206-1877 or loeb@anderson.ucla.edu. You may also visit the Loeb Awards Web site at loeb.anderson.ucla.edu to download the entry brochure in PDF format.

A committee of preliminary judges, consisting of business, financial and economic journalists and faculty members of The Anderson School at UCLA, reviews all entries and selects finalists in each category. The finalists are submitted to a distinguished panel of final judges, chaired by the dean of The Anderson School at UCLA, which selects the winners.

Winners in each category receive a $2,000 honorarium (that is divided equally among all participating entrants of a winning entry).

The Loeb Awards is also accepting nominations for (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career achievements in the field of business, financial and economic news, and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing. Nomination procedures for both awards are included in the entry brochure.

Loeb Awards Final Judges:

Rance Crain, president and editorial director, Crain Communications, Inc.
Lou Dobbs, host of "Lou Dobbs Moneyline," CNN
Mary Anne Dolan, former editor, Los Angeles Herald Examiner
Steve Forbes, president and editor-in-chief, Forbes
Soma Golden Behr, assistant managing editor, The New York Times
John Hillkirk, managing editor, Money Section, USA Today
John Huey, editorial director, Time, Inc.
Robert G. Kaiser, associate editor, The Washington Post
Mark Morrison, managing editor, BusinessWeek
Allan Sloan, Wall Street editor, Newsweek
Paul E. Steiger, vice president and managing editor, The Wall Street Journal
Richard C. Wald, consultant, ABC News
Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief, Bloomberg News
Bruce G. Willison, dean of The Anderson School at UCLA

About the Loeb Awards

Established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton, the Loeb Awards recognize journalists who have made significant contributions to the public's understanding of business, finance and the economy. The judges select winners based on quality of reporting and writing, news and analytical value, originality and exclusivity, and in the broadcast categories only, production value and visual impact. In 2003, The John E. Anderson Graduate School of Management at UCLA is celebrating their 30th anniversary of presenting the Loeb Awards.

For more information about the Loeb Awards, please visit the Loeb Awards Web site at loeb.anderson.ucla.edu.

Media Relations