May 16, 2003

LOS ANGELES — The Harold Price Center for Entrepreneurial Studies at The Anderson School at UCLA announced the winner of the 22nd annual Knapp Venture Competition, held May 13. Competing against four other teams at the finals, XieHou Entertainment was awarded first place honors and received cash prizes totaling $10,000.

The XieHou Entertainment team consists of Mark Mai ('03), Yun Ma, Yong Liu, Penny Naud ('04) and Jason Wang ('04), who presented their business plan to a judging panel of venture capitalists, attorneys and business professionals. Anderson faculty, students, staff and alumni, were joined by Anderson board members and members of the Venture Competition, to watch the final round of presentations.

Xiehou Entertainment provides a wireless application for matchmaking services in China, a market that will have both the highest number of cell phone users, as well as the largest population in the world. The team came in fifth place for the Carrot Capital Competition in New York City.

"It was exciting to see ideas take shape and gain momentum throughout the year as students teamed up to construct viable business plans. We are starting to see a higher level of interdisciplinary cooperation between Anderson students and other UCLA departments, as well as the business community," said Cherry Lu, program manager, The Harold Price Center for Entrepreneurial Studies.

The winners of the 2003 Knapp Venture Competition were announced at a reception following the final competition. Alex Dickinson, founder and CEO of Luxtera, Inc., delivered a keynote address about the role of entrepreneurship in today's business environment. He shared his words of wisdom about entrepreneurship, including the importance of being flexible. Mr. Dickinson noted, "The key thing for every entrepreneur to know is to be ready for uncertainty." He discussed how Luxtera has been able to succeed, even in tough economic times. "We have an Anderson alum at Luxtera who helped us get through our Series-B round of financing. It's a testament to the learning that takes place at Anderson," said Mr. Dickinson.

View the winning presentation 300K

Additional results of the 2003 Knapp Venture Competition:

Second Place (Tie): Each Team Received $1,000 in Prize Money


EVWorks - Distributes low-cost, zero-emissions electric vehicles that are designed in the U.S. and manufactured in India. The group consists of current Anderson students and industry professionals, one of whom is an Anderson alum from the class of 2000. Team members are Diego Miralles, Cathy Cavella, David Noles ('00), Grady Lam ('04) and Glenn Oyoung ('04).


PanPacSoft - Develops proprietary software and hosted services that will streamline trade fulfillment for transactions between the United States and Asia-Pacific countries. The team is comprised of current MBA students from The Anderson School and other programs, Anderson alumni, as well as industry professionals. Team members are Hubert Xian, Jian Liu ('03), Yan Wu, Ming Ting, Rob Ryan and Vivian Luo ('95).

Honorable Mention: Each Team Received $500 in Prize Money


HTS, LLC - Uses proprietary software to provide commercial commissioning services for hospitals and educational facilities in Los Angeles. The team leader is an Anderson executive MBA (EMBA) student who is a co-owner of both a construction management company and a radiation dosimetry consulting firm. Team members are Kimberly Clemenson EMBA ('03), Carl Lachman EMBA ('03), Melissa Leonard EMBA ('03), John Bolling EMBA ('03), William Clemenson and Anthony Sindoni.


Osteoscience - Will develop its intellectual property into a new treatment for osteoporosis. Merck, Amgen and Pfizer have expressed interest in future licensing opportunities with this biotech firm. The team is led by a UCLA medical researcher and supported by Anderson full-time MBA and Fully Employed MBA (FEMBA) students. Team members include Dr. Farhad Parhami, Matt Abbott ('03), John Harrington ('03), Ruby Pan (FEMBA '04) and Ed Yen ('03).

The Knapp Venture Competition is named for Bud and Betsy Knapp whose $2 million gift to the school supports the annual event and other entrepreneurial initiatives. The couple serves on The Anderson School's Board of Visitors.

The judges who evaluated the business plans and presentations of the five finalist teams include:

  • Betsy Wood Knapp, founder and CEO, BigPicture Investors, LLC
  • Cleon "Bud" Knapp, trustee, The Knapp Foundation
  • Timothy Draper, founder and managing director, Draper Fisher Jurvetson
  • Paul Kreutz, partner, Gray Cary
  • Eve Kurtin, managing director, Pacific Venture Group
  • Steve Wadsworth, president, The Walt Disney Internet Group
  • Bertram Zweig, counsel, Kaye Scholer, LLP

About the Harold Price Center for Entrepreneurial Studies

The Harold Price Center for Entrepreneurial Studies is consistently ranked among the best in the world for entrepreneurial education and has been ranked #1 over the last two years by Financial Times. The Price Center oversees all teaching, research, extracurricular and community activities related to entrepreneurship at The Anderson School. The Price Center strives to provide academic and extracurricular experiences that advance both the theory and practice of entrepreneurship.

About The Anderson School at UCLA

The Anderson School at UCLA is perennially ranked among the top-tier business schools in the world. Award-winning faculty renowned for their research and teaching, highly selective admissions, successful alumni and world-class facilities combine to provide an extraordinary learning environment. Established in 1935, The Anderson School provides management education to more than 1,400 students enrolled in full-time, part-time and executive MBA programs and doctoral programs.

Media Relations