UCLA Anderson Alumni Awards

Nominations for 2021 UCLA Anderson Alumni Awards are Now Open!

Every year, the UCLA Anderson Alumni Network recognizes exceptional individuals who have made an impact on the UCLA Anderson community and the world. Nominate a member of our alumni network who deserves special recognition.

Review Eligibility Criteria

    Submit Nomination    
Submissions are due November, 16, 2020.

Due to the global pandemic and the cancellation of in-person events in spring of 2020, the 2020 and 2021 UCLA Anderson Alumni Awards will be presented during virtual Alumni Conference on April 30, 2021.


2020 John E. Anderson Distinguished Alumni Award


The John E. Anderson Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest accolade for exceptional achievement that the UCLA Anderson School of Management may bestow upon its alumni. The Distinguished Alumni Award salutes the achievements of outstanding alumni whose personal lives, professional achievements and community service exemplify the objectives of their alma mater.

Stewart W. Bainum Jr. has served for 23 years as the chairman of the board of Choice Hotels International, one of the largest and most successful lodging franchisors in the world. Over the course of his career, he has been the chief executive of Choice Hotels, HCR Manor Care, Vitalink Pharmacy Services and Sunburst Hospitality. Read Stewart’s Bio

Read Stewart’s Story

Stewart W. Bainum Jr. ('70)

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Choice Hotels International



2020 Outstanding Alumni Service Award


The Outstanding Alumni Service Award is presented to alumni who have consistently provided exemplary service to UCLA Anderson, enhancing the stature, success and well-being of the UCLA Anderson Alumni Network, as well as the quality and reputation of the school.

Mike De Paola is the founder and CEO of Threshold Worldwide, which houses his 10+ real estate, art procurement, product development and lifestyle companies. He is based in New York City, Miami Beach and Los Angeles. Read Mike’s Bio

Read Mike’s Story

Mike De Paola ('94)

President and CEO, Threshold Worldwide LLC



Past Recipients

2019 - Joel Fried '86
President of PRIMECAP Management Company
2018 - Bernard Briskin '49
President, CEO and Chairman of the Board of the Arden Group
2017 - Robert S. Murley '74
Vice Chairman-Senior Advisor of Credit Suisse and Chairman of Investment Banking for the Americas
2016 - Jim Moffatt '87
CEO, Global Consulting, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited
2015 - Lonnie Ali '86
Vice Chairman, The Muhammad Ali Center Board
2014 - John E. Parker '50
Entrepreneur and Philanthropist
2013 - Robert D. Beyer '83
Chairman, Chaparal Investments LLC
2010 -  Ambassador Lester B. Korn ('60)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Korn Capital Group and Korn Tuttle Capital Group 
2008 -  Louise L. Francesconi '78
Vice President and President, Missile Systems Business, Raytheon Company
2007 -  Laurence D. Fink '76
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of BlackRock, Chairman of the Executive and Management Committee
2006 -  Kip Hagopian '66
Managing Partner, AppleOaks Partners, LLC
2005 -  Ric Kayne '68
President, Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors; CEO, Kayne Anderson Rudnick Investment Management
2004 -  Jeff Henley '67
Chairman, Oracle Corporation
2003 -  Eugene Rosenfeld '56
Chairman, UCLA Anderson Board of Visitors, Private Investor, ForestLane Group
2002 -  John E. Anderson '40
President, Topa Equities, Ltd. 
2019 - Kate Pletcher '07
Founder and CEO of Treehouse Partners
2018 - Dennis J. Keegan '80
Chairman, Digital Asset Strategies
2017 - Leland L. Sun '86
Founder & Managing Director, Pan Asian Mortgage Company
2016 - Eric Mokover '80
College Admissions Consultant, Counselor, and Partner, Headed for College
2015 - Gregory L. Craig '89
Chairman of Anahau Energy  & CEO of Inupiat Energy Partners
2014 - Jim Freedman '78
Chairman and Managing Director of Intrepid Investment Bankers, LLC (“Intrepid”)
2013 - Christopher Kit Jennings '80
Managing Director, Roth Capital Partners
2013 - Constantine Malaxos '96
Director of Northern American Commercial Sales, Lumeta Corporation
2012 - Grady M. Smith '01
2010 -  Brian Farrell '78
President and CEO of THQ Inc. 
2008 -  Eleanor Brewer '86
Vice President of Research & Development, St. Joseph Health System (retired) 
2007 -  Stephen Torres ('94)
Chief Operating Officer, DRI Energy
2006 -  Jay Ferguson ('94)
Partner, Kline Hawkes and Company
2005 -  Regina Regazzi '97
Assistant Dean, Parker Career Management Center
2004 -  Clayton Frech '98
VP of Operations, Classic Party Rentals