2015 Final Judges


A diverse and distinguished panel of final judges, representing major print and broadcast outlets, meets and selects the winner in each of the 11 competition categories from among finalists submitted by the preliminary judges and chooses the career achievement honorees. The dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management chairs the panel.

Stephen Adler

Editor-in-Chief, Reuters

Davan Maharaj

Editor, Los Angeles Times 

Matthew Bishop*

New York Bureau Chief, The Economist

Tyler Mathisen

Co-anchor, CNBC's Power Lunch
Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC


David Boardman

Dean of the School of Media and Communications, Temple University

Alan Murray

Editor, Fortune

Kevin Delaney 

Editor-in-Chief & President, Quartz


Matt Murray*

Deputy Managing Editor, International News and Money & Investing, The Wall Street Journal

Laurie Hays

Former Senior Executive Editor, Bloomberg News


Judy D. Olian

Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

Larry Kramer

President and Publisher, USA Today

Melanie Sill 

Vice President of Content, Southern California Public Radio 


Glenn Kramon

Senior Editor, New York Times

Paul Steiger

Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica


Joanne Lipman

Adviser, Yahoo! Media
Executive Producer, NYPR

Jonathan Wald

Executive Producer, CNN Tonight  Adjunct Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism



*Photo Courtesy of Ozier Muhammad/The New York Times

Gerald Loeb Awards