2014 Final Judges


A diverse and distinguished panel of final judges, representing major print and broadcast outlets, meets and selects the winner in each of the 14 competition categories from among finalists submitted by the preliminary judges and chooses the career achievement honorees. The dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management chairs the panel.

Stephen Adler

Editor-in-Chief, Reuters

Davan Maharaj

Editor, Los Angeles Times 

Matthew Bishop*

New York Bureau Chief, The Economist

Tyler Mathisen

Co-anchor, CNBC's Power Lunch
Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC


David Boardman

Dean of the School of Media and Communications, Temple University

Stephanie Mehta

Deputy Managing Editor, Fortune

Martin Dickson

U.S. Managing Editor, Financial Times


Matt Murray*

Deputy Managing Editor, International News and Money & Investing, The Wall Street Journal

Laurie Hays

Senior Executive Editor, Bloomberg News

Judy D. Olian

Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

John Hillkirk*

Senior Editor, Investigations and National Enterprise, USA Today

Russ Stanton*

Vice President of Content, Southern California Public Radio


Larry Kramer

President and Publisher, USA Today

Paul Steiger

Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica


Glenn Kramon

New York Times



Jonathan Wald*

Executive Producer, Piers Morgan Tonight  Adjunct Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism


 Joanne Lipman*

Adviser, Yahoo! Media
Executive Producer, NYPR


*Photo Courtesy of Ozier Muhammad/The New York Times

Gerald Loeb Awards