2017 Finalists


Audio Category Finalists

  • Lisa Chow, Kaitlin Roberts, Molly Messick, Bruce Wallace, Luke Malone, Simone Polanen, Alex Blumberg, and Alexandra Johnes for "Dov Charney's American Dream" - Gimlet Media
  • Krissy Clark, Caitlin Esch, Gina Delvac, and Nancy Farghalli for "The Uncertain Hour" - Marketplace
  • Chris Arnold, Robert Smith, Uri Berliner, Neal Carruth, Alex Goldmark, Elizabeth Kulas, and Bryant Urstadt for "Wells Fargo Hurts Whistleblowers - NPR Investigation Sparks Senate Inquiry" - NPR
  • Ilya Marritz, John Reitmeyer, Susan Berfield, Charles Herman, and Cayce Means for "Mall Madness" - WNYC Radio

Beat Reporting Category Finalists

  • David Zahniser, Emily Alpert Reyes, Joe Fox, and Len De Groot for "Big Money, Unlikely Donors" - Los Angeles Times
  • Natalie Kitroeff for "Natalie Kitroeff" - Los Angeles Times
  • Lawrence Delevingne and Nate Raymond for "Platinum Partners Coverage" - Reuters
  • Jennifer Hiller for "Mood Turns Black As Oil As Boom Turns Bust" - San Antonio Express-News
  • Jonathan O'Connell for "Jonathan O'Connell" - The Washington Post
  • Chico Harlan for "The Economics of Immigration" - The Washington Post

Breaking News Category Finalists

  • John Peet, Jeremy Cliffe, and Tom Wainwright for "Brexit: A Tragic Split" - The Economist
  • Zanny Minton Beddoes, Henry Tricks, Anton La Guardia, Chris Lockwood, and Edward McBride for "Saudi Aramco: The World's Most Valuable IPO" - The Economist
  • Ryan Mac and Matt Drange for "Gawker Breaking News" - Forbes
  • Joseph Menn for "Yahoo Secretly Scanned Customer Emails for U.S. Intelligence" - Reuters
  • Mike Bird, Georgi Kantchev, Jenny Gross, Jason Douglas, and the staff of The Wall Street Journal for "WSJ Covers Brexit" - The Wall Street Journal

Commentary Category Finalists

  • Matt Levine for "Matt Levine" - Bloomberg News
  • Shirley Leung for "A Series of Columns by Shirley Leung" - The Boston Globe
  • Adrian Wooldridge for "Creative Destruction: The Schumpeter Column" - The Economist
  • Matt O'Brien for "Global Divides" - The Washington Post

Explanatory Category Finalists

  • Natalie Obiko Pearson, Sharang Limaye, Jason Gale, Lydia Mulvany, Monte Reel, Stephanie Baker, Wenxin Fan, and Adi Narayan for "Superbug Spreaders" - Bloomberg News
  • Robert Smith, Stacey Vanek Smith, Jacob Goldstein, David Kestenbaum, Alex Goldmark, Jess Jiang, Noel King, Nick Fountain, and Bryant Urstadt for "Planet Money Buys Oil" - NPR's Planet Money
  • Renee Dudley, Steve Stecklow, Alexandra Harney, Irene Jay Liu, and Reuters team for "Cheat Sheet" - Reuters
  • Jonathan O'Connell, Kathy Orton, Jim Tankersley, Emily Badger, Ted Mellnik, Darla Cameron, Denise Lu and Kat Downs for "America's Housing Divide" - The Washington Post
  • Todd C. Frankel, Peter Whoriskey, Jorge Ribas, and Michael Robinson Chavez for "Mobile Power - Human Toll" - The Washington Post

Feature Category Finalists

  • Alana Semuels and Rebecca J. Rosen for "Alana Semuels on Who's Making It-and Who's Not Making It-in America" - The Atlantic
  • Matthew Campbell and Kit Chellel for "Hot Mess: How Goldman Lost Libya's Money" - Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Oliver Morton, James Fransham, Patrick Foulis, and Adrian Wooldridge for "America's Competition Problem" - The Economist
  • Erika Fry for "Hot Mess" - Fortune

Images/Graphics/Interactives Category Finalists

  • David Ingold and Spencer Soper for "Amazon Doesn't Consider the Race of Its Customers. Should It?" - Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Lucy Rohr and Tom Standage for "The Economist on Snapchat" - The Economist
  • Tom Burgis, Michael Peel, Pilita Clark, Charlie Bibby, and Kari-Ruth Pedersen for "Great Land Rush" - Financial Times
  • Larry Buchanan, Karen Yourish, Walt Bogdanich, Jacqueline Williams, Ana Graciela Mendez, Motoko Rich, Amanda Cox, Matthew Bloch, Quoctrung Bui, Matt A.V. Chaban, Jeremy White, and Nicholas Casey for "Business Visuals" - The New York Times

International Category Finalists

  • Hannah Dreier and Ricardo Nunes for "Venezuela Undone" - The Associated Press
  • Jordan Robertson, Michael Riley, and Andrew Willis for "How to Hack an Election" - Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Peter Waldman, Javier Blas, Grant Smith, and Glen Carey for "Saudi Arabia Economy" - Bloomberg News
  • Ana Graciela Mendez, Jacqueline Williams, Walt Bogdanich, Jeremy White, and Larry Buchanan for "The New Panama Canal: A Risky Bet" - The New York Times

Investigative Category Finalists

  • Sam Roe, Karisa King, and Ray Long for "Dangerous Doses" - Chicago Tribune
  • Harriet Ryan, Lisa Girion, and Scott Glover for "Investigating OxyContin" - Los Angeles Times
  • Ryan Gabrielson and Topher Sanders for "Busted" - ProPublica
  • William R. Levesque, Nathaniel Lash, and Anthony Cormier for "Allegiant Air" - Tampa Bay Times
  • David A. Fahrenthold for "Trump's Charity" - The Washington Post

Local Category Finalists

  • Eric Eyre for "Painkiller Profiteers" - Charleston Gazette-Mail
  • Michael J. Berens and Patricia Callahan for "Suffering in Secret" - Chicago Tribune
  • Karen Bouffard, Joel Kurth, and Walter Middlebrook for "Dirty Instruments at the Detroit Medical Center" - The Detroit News
  • Jessica Calefati for "Is an Online School Cashing in on Failure?" - The Mercury News

Personal Finance Category Finalists

  • Michael J. Mishak and Ben Wieder for "Drinks, Dinners, Junkets and Jobs: How the Insurance Industry Courts State Commissioners" - The Center for Public Integrity
  • Taylor Tepper and Elizabeth O'Brien for "The High Cost of Coping" - MONEY Magazine
  • Tara Siegel Bernard and Ron Lieber for "Public Sacrifice" - The New York Times
  • Tim McLaughlin for "How the Owners of Fidelity Get Richer at Everyday Investors' Expense" - Reuters

Video Category Finalists

  • Anderson Cooper, Andy Court, Sarah Fitzpatrick, and Terry Manning for "60 Minutes: Strike-Through" - CBS News 60 Minutes
  • Jim Cramer, Nikhil Deogun, Mitch Weitzner, Wally Griffith, Reid Collins Jr., James Segelstein, Christie Gripenburg, Charlotte Lewis, Patrick Ahearn, Steven T. Banton, Rich Korn, and Allison E. Stedman for "Ground Zero Rising: Freedom vs. Fear" - CNBC
  • Greg Gilderman, Marisa Venegas, Neil Katz, Solly Granatstein, Shawn Efran, Marcus Stern, Brandon Kieffer, John Carlos Frey, Monica Villamizar, and Manuel Iglesias Perez for "Cosecha de Miseria (Harvest of Misery) & The Source" - Telemundo Network and Weather.com
  • Adya Beasley, Paul Kiernan, Nadia Sussman, João Pina, Christopher Kaeser, and Jill Kirschenbaum for "Mining Dam Failures Present a Global Danger" - The Wall Street Journal

Gerald Loeb Awards 2017