2017 Final Judges


A diverse and distinguished panel of final judges, representing major print and broadcast outlets, meets and selects the winner in each of the competition categories from among finalists submitted by the preliminary judges and chooses the career achievement honorees. The dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management chairs the panel.

Stephen Adler

Editor-in-Chief, Reuters

Alan Murray

Editor, Fortune
Chief Content Officer, Time Inc.

David Boardman

Dean of the School of Media and Communications, Temple University

Matt Murray*

Deputy Editor-in-Chief, The Wall Street Journal

David Callaway 

Chief Executive Officer, TheStreet 

Judy D. Olian

Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

Kevin Delaney 

Editor-in-Chief & Co-Founder, Quartz

Andy Serwer 

Editor-in-Chief, Yahoo Finance

Patrick Foulis

New York Bureau Chief & U.S. Business Editor, The Economist


Melanie Sill

Vice President of Content, Southern California Public Radio

Davan Maharaj

Editor & PublisherLos Angeles Times
Liz Spayd

Public Editor, The New York Times 


Tyler Mathisen

Co-anchor, CNBC's Power Lunch
V.P. for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC
Paul Steiger

Executive Chairman, ProPublica


Gretchen Morgenson

Assistant Business & Financial Editor, The New York Times
  Matthew Winkler

Editor-in-Chief Emeritus and Founder, Bloomberg News


*Photo Courtesy of Ozier Muhammad/The New York Times

Gerald Loeb Awards 2017