2014 Call for Entries Press Release




February 10 Deadline for Submissions in 14 Competition Categories and Two Career Achievement Honors

LOS ANGELES, January 6, 2014 - UCLA Anderson School of Management and the G. and R. Loeb Foundation invite journalists from print, online and broadcast media to submit entries in 14 competition categories and nominations for two career achievement awards for the 2014 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

The Gerald Loeb Awards are the most prestigious honor in business journalism nationwide and were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, founding partner of E.F. Hutton, to recognize writers, editors and producers who make significant contributions to the understanding of business, finance and the economy for both the private investor and the general public. UCLA Anderson had been presenting the awards since 1973.

All competition categories are classified into either Platform Neutral or Platform Specific groups. Consideration is limited to entries that were published or broadcast in the United States during calendar year 2013. All entries must be submitted online at www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu by 11:59:59 p.m. PST on Monday, February 10, 2014.

Nominations will also be accepted for: (1) the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes exceptional career contributions in the field of business, financial and economic news; and (2) the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which recognizes career contributions in business journalism editing.

Platform Neutral Competition Categories: 

• Beat Reporting

• Breaking News

• Commentary

• Explanatory

• Images/Visuals

• International

• Investigative

• Personal Finance

• Video/Audio (replaces Broadcast category)

Platform Specific Competition Categories:

• Magazines

• Newspapers - Large

• Newspapers - Small & Medium

• News Services

••    Online

More information on categories and submission guidelines can be found at www.loeb.anderson.ucla.edu or by contacting The Gerald Loeb Awards office at loeb@anderson.ucla.edu or (310) 825-4478.

Gerald Loeb Awards Final Judges:

STEPHEN J. ADLER, Editor-in-Chief, Reuters

AMANDA BENNETT, Author / Former Executive Editor, Projects and Investigations, Bloomberg News

MATTHEW BISHOP, New York Bureau Chief, The Economist

DAVID BOARDMAN, Dean of the School of Media and Communications, Temple University

Martin Dickson, U.S. Managing Editor, Financial Times

JOHN HILLKIRK, Senior Editor, Investigations and National Enterprise, USA Today

LARRY KRAMER, President and Publisher, USA Today

GLENN KRAMON, Senior Editor, The New York Times

JOANNE LIPMAN, Adviser, Yahoo! Media / Executive Producer, NYPR

Davan Maharaj, Editor, Los Angeles Times

TYLER MATHISEN, Co-anchor, CNBC's Power Lunch / Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC

MATT MURRAY, Deputy Managing Editor, International News and Money & Investing, The Wall Street Journal

JUDY D. OLIAN, Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

ALLAN SLOAN, Senior Editor-at-Large, Fortune

RUSS STANTON, Vice President of Content, Southern California Public Radio

PAUL STEIGER, Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica

JONATHAN WALD, Executive Producer, Piers Morgan Tonight / Adjunct Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

About the Gerald Loeb Awards

The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. His intention was to encourage reporting on business and finance that would inform and protect the private investor and the general public.  As the most prestigious honor in business journalism, distinguished journalists and outlets nationwide submit entries to the competition.  UCLA Anderson has been presenting The Gerald Loeb Awards since 1973 and the awards use a two-tier judging process comprising a preliminary round and final round.  The awards banquet and celebration is held in New York City every June and is attended by the country's top business and financial publishers, editors, journalists, producers and celebrities. The Gerald Loeb Awards is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support. Follow The Gerald Loeb Awards on Twitter at http://twitter.com/LoebAwards. Hashtag: #LoebAwards

About UCLA Anderson School of Management:

UCLA Anderson School of Management is among the leading business schools in the world, with faculty members globally renowned for their teaching excellence and research in advancing management thinking. Located in Los Angeles, gateway to the growing economies of Latin America and Asia and a city that personifies innovation in a diverse range of endeavors, UCLA Anderson's MBA, Fully-Employed MBA, Executive MBA, Global Executive MBA for Asia Pacific, Global Executive MBA for the Americas, Master of Financial Engineering, doctoral and executive education programs embody the school's Think In The Next ethos. Annually, some 1,800 students are trained to be global leaders seeking the business models and community solutions of tomorrow. Follow UCLA Anderson on Twitter at http://twitter.com/UCLAAnderson or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/uclaanderson

Gerald Loeb Awards 2017