2012 Final Judges

A diverse and distinguished panel of final judges, representing major print and broadcast outlets, meets and selects the winner in each of the 13 competition categories from among finalists submitted by the preliminary judges and chooses the career achievement honorees. The dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management chairs the panel.

Rafat Ali
CEO and Founder, Skift


Davan Maharaj
Editor, Los Angeles Times

Amanda Bennett
Executive Editor, Projects and Investigations, Bloomberg News

Tyler Mathisen
Co-anchor, CNBC's Power Lunch
Vice President for Strategic Editorial Initiatives, CNBC  
Matthew Bishop*
New York Bureau Chief, The Economist
Matt Murray*
Deputy Managing Editor,
International News and Money & Investing, The Wall Street Journal

David Boardman
Executive Editor and Senior Vice President, The Seattle Times

Judy D. Olian
Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

Chrystia Freeland*
Editor, Thomson Reuters Digital

Allan Sloan*
Senior Editor-at-Large, Fortune
John Hillkirk*
Senior Editor, Investigations and National Enterprise, USA Today
Russ Stanton*
Vice President of Content, Southern California Public Radio
Larry Kramer
President and Publisher, USA Today

Paul Steiger
Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica


Glenn Kramon*
Assistant Managing Editor, The New York Times

Gillian Tett
U.S. Managing Editor, Financial Times

Joanne Lipman*
Adviser, Yahoo! Media
Executive Producer, NYPR

Jonathan Wald*
Executive Producer, Piers Morgan Tonight  Adjunct Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism




2011 Final Judges Archive

2010 Final Judges Archive

2009 Final Judges Archive

2008 Final Judges Archive

2007 Final Judges Archive

2006 Final Judges Archive

2005 Final Judges Archive

*Photo Courtesy of Ozier Muhammad/The New York Times

Gerald Loeb Awards 2017